Skip to main content

Inside Look

Congratulations Alpha Phi Sigma for Success at the ACJS Conference!


Members of Alpha Phi Sigma, the criminal justice honor society, attended the annual conference held in National Harbor, Maryland during spring break. The APS conference is held during the annual ACJS conference.

Student Spotlight: Sophie Owen

Student Spotlight Graphic

Sophie Owen, an impressive senior in the Criminal Justice program in the School of Justice Studies, has worked with her Professor, Christina Dewhurst, on writing and presenting her honors thesis, titled "Wait, is That Legal?

Double Major Grad Works Double Time for Social Change

Photo of McKenna Revel

McKenna Revel, '17, loved the academic freedom of being able to study multiple majors during her time at Eastern Kentucky University. Now, she’s living out her passions as both a legal assistant in Lexington and executive director of the Homeless Coalition in Montgomery County.

Dr. Judah Schept Discusses His Book on a New Episode of the Conjuncture Podcast

Faculty Spotlight Judah Schept Graphic

Christina Heatherton speaks with Judah Schept about his new book, Coal, Cages, Crisis: The Rise of the Prison Economy in Central Appalachia (NYU Press, 2022). Conjuncture is a web series and podcast curated and co-produced by Jordan T.

Student Spotlight - Jayna Singleton

Jayna Singleton

Jayna Singleton is a Senior Criminal Justice major, from Rockcastle, KY.  In addition to her major, Jayna is pursuing a Psychology minor and a Homeland Security certificate in Intelligence Studies with a threat specialty.

Student Spotlight-Gracie Barkley

Photo of Gracie Barkley

Gracie Barkley, a current Police Studies major in the School of Justice Studies, is this year's winner of the Kentucky Women's Law Enforcement Network's Student Achievement Award.

Dr. John Brent Awarded Graduate Research Funding

Photo of Dr. John Brent

Dr. John Brent was recently selected by the EKU Graduate Council’s Student Affairs Committee to receive up to $500.00 in graduate research assistance funding based on his current research. Dr.

Alumni Spotlight


Each month we will be highlighting an EKU Alum who has gone on to do some pretty impressive work.

School of Justice Studies Graduate Student, Haley Bates, Wins National Competition!

Haley Bates

Haley Bates, graduate student in the School of Justice studies, has won a national competition for her paper titled “Standing Rock: The Erosion of Indigenous Sovereignty and Environmental Protections”.

Dr. Judah Schept Receives "Critical Criminologist of the Year" Award

Dr. Judah Schept

Dr. Judah Schept was recently awarded “Critical Criminologist of the Year” by the American Society of Criminology’s Division of Critical Criminology and Social Justice.

Open /*deleted href=#openmobile*/